Senate propose creation of Ibadan, 19 other states - Paul Ukpabio's Blog


Post Top Ad

Place Your Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Place Your Ads Here

Sunday, 8 August 2021

Senate propose creation of Ibadan, 19 other states

The Senate committee on constitution review has recommended that 20 new states be created. The committee reached this decision after it considered various factors including the ability of civilian administration to create states.

Sources told The Nation that referendum may be conducted for no fewer than 20 states. The Senate is determined to respect what it termed “the genuine desire of Nigerians.”

The committee has recommended state status for the FCT. The list of requests for new states includes:

ITAI State from Akwa Ibom

Katagum state from Bauchi

Okura state from Kogi

East Adada state from Enugu

Gurara state from Kaduna South

Ijebu State from Ogun

Ibadan state from Oyo

Tiga state from Kano

Ghari state from Kano

Amana state from Adamawa

Gongola state from Adamawa

Mambilla state from Taraba

Savannah state from Borno

Okun state from Kogi

Etiti state from the southeast zone

Orashi state from Imo and Anambra

Njaba from the present Imo state or the excision of Aba state from Abia

Anioma state from Delta

Torogbene and Oil River states from Bayelsa, Delta and Rivers states

Bayajida state from parts of Katsina, Jigawa and Zamfara.

Source; the nation

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad

Your Ads Here