Seplat Petroleum emerges 2018 PEARL of the Capital Market - Paul Ukpabio's Blog


Post Top Ad

Place Your Ads Here

Post Top Ad

Place Your Ads Here

Tuesday, 27 November 2018

Seplat Petroleum emerges 2018 PEARL of the Capital Market

Seplat Petroleum Development Company last Sunday at the prestigious Eko Hotel on Sunday November 25th in Lagos, emerged the 2018 Pearl of the capital market.

It was the 23rd edition of the Awards with key players in Nigeria’s financial and capital Market in attendance.

Speaking later, Seplat’s Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Austin Avuru said the award was a crowning reward for an eventful year for his company.

On her part, the Acting Director-General of the Security and Exchange Commission of Nigeria Ms Mary Uduk, commended the Board of PEARL Award for their consistency and for creating the platform to stimulate healthy rivalry among quoted companies.

His remark was also corroborated by the President of the Council of the Nigeria Stock Exchange Mr Abimbola Ogunbanjo, who said PEARL Awards transparency and Integrity has had a great role in encouraging the market players.

Earlier in his opening remarks, the President/CEO Pearl Awards Mr. Tayo Orekoya in his opening remarks said the 2018 edition recognized and rewarded over 85 quoted companies for outstanding operational and stock performance with eighteen (18) emerging as the highest awards winners of the stock market at different times, based on verifiable facts and figures rather than elements of subjectivity.

He said a new board of Governors had been inaugurated to steer the vision and goals of the organization, even as it targets 2020 to expand its mandate to the African financial market.

The Award also featured the review of the 2018 Nigeria Stock Market Annual report by Mr Opeyemi Ojesinawhich was launched by Senator Solomon Olamilekan Adeola of Lagos West Senatorial District to the tune of N10 million naira.

Senator Adeola in his remarks also pledged to lead the amendment of the CISI bill at the 8th National Assembly, before the assembly’s tenure is rounded up.

Other winners at the event included, Mr Olutola Mobolurin former President of the Chartered Institute of Stockbrokers and Chairman NASD Plc, who received the PEARL Awards’ special honorary award for Capital Market Development.

The MD/CEO of Presco PLC Mr Felix Nwabuko bagged the PEARL Awards 2018 most outstanding CEO while Channels Television receives the special award for quality capital market reporting.

Mr Iheanyi Nwachukwu of Businessday newspaper got the special honorary award for the PEARL Awards capital market journalist of the year.

Other winners include, Presco Plc, Guiness Nigeria Plc, Transnational Corporation, Stanbic IBTC Bank, Cement Company of Northern Nigeria among others.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad

Your Ads Here