Header Ads

Wednesday, 5 September 2018


Immediate Past Chairman Pearl Awards, Alhaji Umar
Abdullahi(left); New Chairman, Dr Faruk Umar; Past
President, Institute of Directors, Chief(Mrs) Eniola Fadayomi; First
Chairman, Union Bank Plc and former Chairman of Costain(West Africa),
Ambassador Shehu Malami and President, The PEARL Awards Nigeria.
Kano State Ex Permanent Secretary for Special duties, Dr. Faruk Umar, has been appointed the new Chairman of 25-year old Pearl Awards. In a board room re-shuffle, Umar takes over from the erstwhile Chairman Alhaji Umar Abdullahi, a past Registrar-General of the Corporate Affairs Commission.

At the inauguration of the new board at the Lagos Sheraton Hotel yesterday, Dr. Faruk Umar who is also the President of the Association for Advancement of Rights of Nigerian Shareholders (AARNS), formally accepted and declared his new appointment, as ‘another new dawn for rewarding excellence in the Nigerian Capital market.’

The event also saw two new Patrons emerge for the new Pearl Awards Board in the persons of Ambassador Shehu Malami (Sarkin Sudan) a revered statesman, astute businessman and diplomat along with the immediate Past Chairman of the board Alhaji Umar. F. Abdullahi.

Other members of the new board include: Mr. Tayo Orekoya the CEO and President of Pearl Awards; Mr. Wole  Adetunji, a past Director General of the Securities & Exchange Commission; Chief Mrs. Eniola Fadayomi, a Past President of the Institute of Directors; Dr. Biodun Adedipe, a capital market expert; Mrs. Olufunmilola Abosede Oyebadejo, a Past President of the Institute of Capital Market Registrars; Dr. Suleyman Ndanusa, a Past Director General and Past Chairman of the Securities & Exchange Commission; Chief Mrs. Nike Akande, an immediate Past President of Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry; Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, a Past Chairman of the Nigerian Economic Summit Group; Mr. Olufemi Awoyemi, Founder of Proshare Nigeria Limited; Mrs. Oluwatoyin Sanni, CEO of Emerging Africa Capital Group; Prince Abimbola Olashore, President  of the Association of Investment Advisers & Portfolio Managers and Mr. Lekan Adekoya, the Board Secretary & Head of Finance and Capital Market, CITC Group.

The Board of Pearl Awards seized the opportunity of the inauguration, to honour the immediate Past Chairman of the board for the diligent service he rendered during his tenor, and also to Ambassador Shehu Malami.

In his speech, the President and CEO of Pearl Awards Mr. Tayo Orekoya said that, among other things, Pearl Awards will be expanding, “as we want to see the entire African continent as our new turf, and the new board has been carefully chosen to see this dream through.”
New Chaiman Dr. Faruk Umar decorates new Patron Alhaji Shehu Malami

No comments:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.