Header Ads

Wednesday, 10 August 2016

2016 Pearl Awards Central Working Committee inaugurated in Lagos

Tayo Orekoya, President, Pearl Awards Nigeria.

The 2016 annual Pearl Awards was formally kick-started two days ago in Lagos, when the President of Pearl Awards Nigeria, Mr Tayo Orekoya inaugurated  the 2016 Central Working Committee with pomp and circumstance, at the Awards Secretariat in Lagos.

The inauguration of the

Central Working Committee is an official annual event which is designed to formally kick-start the series of activities geared towards the grand hosting of the PEARL Awards Nite: An event which celebrates winners on the Nigerian stock market annually. This year's edition being particularly important, as it will be an immediate follow-up to the grand 20th Anniversary celebration last year, of the hosting of the Pearl Awards in Nigeria.

An elated Tayo Orekoya read the committee inauguration address at the board room of the secretariat.

"Distinguished Members-designate, Ladies and Gentlemen, on behalf of the Board of Governors and Secretariat of the PEARL Awards Nigeria, I have the singular honour of welcoming you all to this event, the inauguration of the 2016 PEARL Awards Central Working Committee (CWC). Please permit me to start by expressing my appreciation to you all for responding to this call for a selfless service. We look forward to your dedication and commitment as we set out for the onerous task ahead," he said to a roaring applause.

According to Mr Tayo Orekoya, "The Awards Nite has been taken to a standard that we cannot afford to lower in terms of organization, participation and structure. Therefore, the expectation is that this year’s Awards must not only be outstanding but must surpass the previous editions in all ramifications.

"Over the years we have built and sustained a legacy through the PEARL Awards and this is attest able to the high reputation and credibility which corporate Nigeria and other stakeholders have held it accountable for its impartiality and reliance on verifiable indices to determine its yearly awardees. The challenge for our Central Working Committee being inaugurated today is to ensure that through their efforts and commitment, the benchmark for world class events are met and surpassed.”

While additional members have been brought into the committee this year, the 2016 Central Working Committee also has some members who were also there last year.

Orekoya while rolling out the names of the committee members, expressed the overall expectation of the Board of Governors and Secretariat of the Pearl Awards when he told the committee that, it is hoped that, it will come together from time to time and brainstorm on issues pertaining to this year’s Awards while proffering pragmatic solutions to some of the issues already raised and also most importantly, to hit the ground running.

The distinguished members of the inaugurated Committee; Mr. Toyin Fajana (Chairman/ Coordinator), Mr. Philip Braide (Vice Chairman), Mr. Lekan Adekoya (Member/ Board secretary), Mr. Olusola Akinsola (Member /Committee Secretary), Mrs. Seun Tayo Balogun (Member), Mr.  Paul Ukpabio (Member), Ms. Barbara Babarinsa (Member), Mrs. Lilian Oladipo (Member), Mr. Festus Odume (Member), Mr. Niyi Makinde (Member), Mrs. Oreoluwa Lawan (Member), Mr. Abisodun Adekoya (Member), Mr. Emmanuel Orji (Member), Mr. Lateef Ishola (Member).

Afterwards, the Committee members received their term of reference and were subsequently broken down into sub committees with meeting schedules.

*Pictorials of past Pearl Awards events:


  1. The only Awards for the Nigerian Capital Market endorsed by the Securities and Exchange Commission, being in existence for over two decades is a testimony to the fact that its the real deal - Rewarding and Celebrating Corporate Excellence.

  2. Thank you, Mr Braide, for that additional information.


Powered by Blogger.